Reading Wrap-Up | August 2016

This month I managed to read 7 books, which makes August my best reading month in a while! I also checked out 4 books from the library this month and I read every single one. THAT NEVER HAPPENS. I hope I can keep this streak up, lol.

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh

My Rating: 2/5

I felt pretty let down by this book. I was hoping this would be a new favorite thriller book of mine, but I just didn’t like it. The writing style was fine, but I thought the contents of the writing were too repetitive (perhaps on purpose, but I’m still not a fan). I also felt like the pacing was off and the climax lacked impact. (Full Review)

 

Maybe In Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

My Rating: 4/5

This is the best romance book I have read in a long time. It was a sweet story with just the right amount of squeal-worthy moments and just the right amount of depth. Taylor Jenkins Reid was an amazing find for me. I can’t wait to read the rest of her books because it seems like her other works seem even more popular and well-liked than this one. (Full Review)

 

My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout

My Rating: 2/5

I had a feeling I wouldn’t be into this book and I was right. This book has had a lot of hype around it and it has been nominated for lots of literary prizes. After reading it, I am extremely puzzled as to why. The characters were one-dimensional, the writing was dry and overall, it just felt like a bunch of random scenes were slapped together with no rhyme or reason. Wouldn’t recommend. (Full Review)

 

We Love You, Charlie Freeman by Kaitlyn Greenidge

My Rating: 4/5

I enjoyed reading this book a lot. The writing flowed really well and something about it made me not want to put it down. The Nymphadora parts that were set in the past ended up being my favorite parts to read. I think that Greenidge could have built a really interesting novel around that period of time alone. I did think that there were too many questions left about the mother, Laurel. We could have done with more chapters and insight from her perspective. I am still a bit confused about her motives, but overall I liked this book a lot. Greenidge seems to be a promising new author and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

The Girls by Emma Cline

My Rating: 3/5

This one was just okay. I was entertained enough while reading for the most part, but when I wasn’t reading it I didn’t think about it. And I didn’t have much urgency to continue reading on. The writing was nice, but a lot of them time it felt too flowery and overwrought for no good reason. I can see why some people would really like this book, but it was just “meh” for me, personally.

 

The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin

My Rating: 5/5

If you have read Between the World and Me by Ta-nehisi Coates (and liked it), but haven’t read this – GET ON IT! This book is a commentary on race around the time of the civil rights movement. While we have made some strides forward, it’s sad how much of this book is still so painfully relevant in 2016. He was dropping so much wisdom, I think I underlined something on almost every page. I instantly added it to my “favorites” list upon completion. Loved it.

 

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

My Rating: 5/5

If you have been here a while then you already know how much I love A Little Life. It’s my favorite book and my friend finally decided to read it so I said I would re-read along with her and we could discuss it. I loved it just as much as the first time and it was a great experience to be able to have 2 hour long discussions with my friend and share the book I love so much with her. It is a harrowing read with characters who will stick with you forever. It may be difficult, but it is rewarding to read. Of course, I recommend it to you if you haven’t read it yet. (Full Review)

 

Those are my brief thoughts on all the books I read this month. Have you read any of them? What did you think?

9 thoughts on “Reading Wrap-Up | August 2016

Leave a Reply

