Book Review | My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout: Disjointed Rambling

My Name is Lucy Barton - Book ReviewYeah, I didn’t like this one. If you keep up with literary fiction releases at all then you would have heard of My Name is Lucy Barton. It was selected for the Manbooker Prize longlist and it’s a pretty short book so I decided to check it out. All I can say is that if this book wasn’t so short I’m positive I would have DNF’d it.

I can see where she was TRYING to go with this novel, but the execution was horrible. A lot of this book is about the relationship between mother and daughter, a subject matter that is primed to pull at the heartstrings, but the writing was so dry and the characters so one-dimensional that I felt nothing.

My Name Is Lucy Barton just seems incomplete to me. It kind of felt like she had written out a bunch of different scenes in no particular order, then just mashed them together and called it a book. I don’t know if she was going for stream-of-consciousness, but it just seemed like aimless rambling.

My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout - Book Review

I can’t say I would recommend this to book to people, but if you decided to read it the upside would be that it’s short so you won’t have wasted too much time. The fact that that’s the upside of this book is incredibly sad, lol.

2 Stars!

star-1    star-1


Title: My Name is Lucy Barton
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Genre: Literary Fiction
Publisher: Random House
Release Date: January 12, 2016
Pages: 208
Find On: Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation. Her mother, to whom she hasn’t spoken for many years, comes to see her. Gentle gossip about people from Lucy’s childhood in Amgash, Illinois, seems to reconnect them, but just below the surface lie the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of Lucy’s life: her escape from her troubled family, her desire to become a writer, her marriage, her love for her two daughters. Knitting this powerful narrative together is the brilliant storytelling voice of Lucy herself: keenly observant, deeply human, and truly unforgettable.

8 thoughts on “Book Review | My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout: Disjointed Rambling

  1. I’d just recently finished reading another of Strout’s book called Olive Kitteridge…It might just be her writing style, but the way the novel is written seems to be similar to how you described that of My Name is Lucy Barton (really scattered) and it’s so deeply emphatic that when I finished the book, I just felt really, really unhappy. Still a good book, nonetheless, if you want to give Strout another try! :)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I read this book back in May (I got a free copy from Netgalley). I also didn’t really enjoy it. I gave it two stars and thought that it was maybe just me because her books always seem so popular. When I saw that it had been nominated for the longlist of the Man Booker prize, I couldn’t believe it. I haven’t read anything else by this author so I couldn’t really judge whether it was just this book or her writing style. I have seen the Olive Kitteridge HBO mini-series and really enjoyed it but I’m not sure whether I want to read the book on the chance that the writing style is the same as Lucy Barton. Good review!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, I am scratching my head about it being on the Manbooker longlist. I’m getting a bit worried because I read Eileen (also on the longlist) and didn’t like it either. Hopefully I can find something on the list worth raving about. Thanks for reading and commenting! :)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, no! It’s unfortunate that you’ve read two 2-star books recently, including Eileen. :(
    Don’t let it get you in a slump! I hope you read one that blows you away soon. All book lovers deserve to be happy and read amazing books.
    What are you reading now?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

