Reading Wrap-Up | February 2016

I managed to read 5 books this month. One was an audio book and one was super short, so I really didn’t read much this month but I did enjoy everything I read! Let’s get into it~

Shelter by Jung Yun

My rating: 4.5/5

Shelter deals with family dynamics over multiple generations. Kyung is Korean-American and his parents are Koreans who immigrated to America. This book was quite a page-turner. I flew through it! The style of writing was right up alley. Everything flowed really well and the prose was nice, but not too flower-y. It was just right. I really liked it.

Full Review

 

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

My rating: 5/5

This book is adapted from Adichie’s TED Talk on Feminism. I really enjoyed it. If I was a book-tabber, I would have tabbed the many great quotes in it. I think it’s a very approachable take on feminism while also being direct and clear, which I appreciated. It’s super short, so I think everyone should give it a read!

 

Year of Yes by Shonda Rhimes

My rating: 4/5

I listened to this on audiobook, which I also suggest you do! I think it is much better in audio form. It was very fun to listen to and I personally found Shonda to be really relatable. The only thing I’d say is that I’m not sure if someone who doesn’t know her or her shows would be interested in this book. If you’re a fan, recommend!

Full Review

 

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates

My rating: 5/5

This book is really important, especially now with all the horrible police brutality going on. Between the World and Me is written as a letter from Coates to his teenage son about what it means to be a black man in America. While this book is extremely relatable to black people, I think there is much that can be learned from this book by others if they have an open mind. I will definitely be picking up a copy of this one.

 

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

My rating: 4/5

My Brilliant Friend is the story of the friendship of two girls living in Naples in the 1950s. The entire series (4 books) goes from their childhood until they are old women, but in this particular book we get up until they are around 17~18. The story is extremely layered. It’s the kind of story that comes together more and more everytime you read it. I did enjoy it, but I’m not dying to get to the next one. This book isn’t very plot-driven, it’s more about the characters so keep that in mind when deciding whether to read this one!

 

Those are my brief thoughts on all the books I read this month. Have you read any of them? What did you think?

3 thoughts on “Reading Wrap-Up | February 2016

  1. I read We Should Be All Be Feminists a couple days ago and really liked it. Seems like I should look into Between the World and Me as well. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

