Top 5 Best and Worst Books I Read in 2015!

Hello, everyone! Happy new year! I hope 2016 is treating you well so far. Today I want to share my list of the top 5 best and worst books I read in 2015. This is not to say they are the best and worst books EVER. Just out of the ones I happened to read in 2015. To see EVERYTHING I read this year, you can go here.

Let’s start with the worst books, and go from the one I disliked the least to the one I disliked the most.

My Top 5 Worst Books of 2015

5. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

This one wasn’t horrible or anything, it was just really disappointing (in my opinion). I wasn’t connected to any of the characters. I found the writing to be try-hard at times, and I thought the ending wasn’t worth the build-up.

4. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I actually enjoyed the first 1/3 of the book, then it took a turn. The main couple was having the same fights over and over and it was just too much drama for no reason. Kind of reminds me of the After series by Anna Todd, so if you didn’t like that you most likely won’t like this either.

3. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan

This was okay. The Will Grayson that David Levithan wrote was such a stereotypical “I’m so cynical, I hate everyone” kind of teenager. The Will Grayson that John Green wrote was so bland and ended up taking a back seat to Tiny Cooper. Overall, just a very mediocre book.

2. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

This was one I read very recently. I liked the characters, but thought the plot was super weak. There was insta-love and a whole bunch of drama that didn’t need to be drama.

1. Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Hated it. Pretentious writing, vapid characters, boring plot. I was expecting SO much more for a book that was supposed to be a “literary masterpiece”.

My Top 5 Best Books of 2015

5. You by Caroline Kepnes

This was a terrifying psychological thriller from the POV of a man who meets a woman and begins to stalk her. This book will have you looking over your shoulder. It’s a book you will continue to think about even after you’ve turned the last page.

4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

This one is an Arabian Nights re-telling. This book is so incredibly atmospheric and the characters have sizzling chemistry. When I wasn’t reading this book I was constantly thinking about it.

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is definitely my favorite contemporary book I have ever read. This book is about a woman who is trying to figure out her life that begins to take care of a quadriplegic man. Definitely one that pulls at the heartstrings.

2. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Even though this book was written around 20 years ago, it still holds up today. This book is about a group of students who murder one of their classmates (revealed on the first page). It’s a look into why they did it and the repercussions of it. You can tell that a crazy amount of time was put into research for this novel. Definitely one I recommend.

1. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

My favorite book of the year and (possible) of all-time! This book was shortlisted for the Manbooker Prize and for good reason. A Little Life chronicles the lives of four men (Jude, Willem, Malcolm and JB) — but it particularly focuses on Jude. Because you get to be with these characters over the course of 3 decades, you become intensely attached to them. This book is one that will encapsulate you. I can’t recommend it enough. Please read it!

So these are my picks for the best and worst books of 2015. Do you agree with any of my choices? Let me know in the comments!

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Best and Worst Books I Read in 2015!

  1. Ugh, I hated We were liars. I still can’t understand all the hype around this book! Ok, it’s not the worst book I ever read but still I wouldn’t say it’s good either.
    On the other hand Willy Grayson, Will Grayson is one of my all time favorites! :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

