Authors and Books I Want to Get Into in 2016!

I was thinking about what authors and books I see myself reading in 2016, so I thought I would just write a post about it! These aren’t in any particular order!

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie Books

She is a Nigerian author and I have heard nothing but praise for her and her writing. I really wanted to jump into We Should All Be Feminists recently, but I heard that it’s best if you read all her work in order, so I want to do that in the new year!

Haruki Murakami

Haruki Murakami - Books

When you talk about Japanese authors, Murakami is likely the author that most people will mention. I haven’t read anything by him so I think I should rectify that! I’m not aiming to read his entire repertoire or anything, I’d just like to read a couple of his popular books, like Norwegian Wood or The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, and see if I’m into it.

Patrick Rothfuss

Patrick Rothfuss - Books

So I have been trying to read Patrick Rothfuss for months now, but things keep getting in the way. I actually had The Name of the Wind on my TBR for this month, but I couldn’t get to it. I hear he is pretty much the master of fantasy so I really, really, really hope I can make myself focus and sit down with his work next year.

Chigozie Obioma

Chigozie Obioma - The Fishermen

Obioma is also a Nigerian author, and he actually only has one book he’s written so far. But with his debut he managed to make it into the shortlist for the Manbooker Prize this year which is an amazing feat! There were many people that were rooting for him to win and I’ve heard much praise for this book. I actually have this checked out from the library, so here’s hoping I get to it before I have to give it back, lol.

Keigo Higashino

Keigo Higashino

Higashino is an author who is esteemed in Japan for writing great mystery/crime novels. I’ve also heard that the way he writes mystery is very different, so I am super interested in delving into his work. In 2016, I am also interested in reading more translated works, so this fits the bill!

Non-Fiction

Putting specific authors aside, this year I came to realize that enjoy the occasional non-fiction book. I like memoir-type books from people I find interesting and feel I can take something from. I also like non-fiction books that focus on a particular topic of research. Pictured are some of the books I want to read next year.

Have you read any of the authors/books I’ve listed here? If so, let me know what I should start with! 

5 thoughts on “Authors and Books I Want to Get Into in 2016!

  1. I Am Malala and Year of Yes are on my nonfiction tbr, I just haven’t gotten to them yet. Haven’t read any of these authors before but my 2016 will be mostly about reading outside my usual genres. I hope that you get to try some of these!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!! What an amazing list of books. I have read 4 of Chimamanda Adichie’s works, the exception being Purple Hibiscus. But I’m sure I will get around to it eventually this year. :D You can’t go wrong with any of her works, honestly.

    I also haven’t read any Haruki Murakami, which is kind of embarrassing. :(

    The Kingkiller Chronicles also looks amazing. I have been meaning to read this series for months, but haven’t gotten around to it, especially after I started my blog. I have only heard positive things about the first book, so I am very excited to read it someday because Fantasy is my favorite genre above all others.

    I have also read I Am Malala and Between The World and Me.

    Great list overall. You have great test! Can’t wait to read your reviews. :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

