Book Review | Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins: Oh, the Insta-Love

Title: Isla and the Happily Ever After
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Romance
Publisher: Speak
Release Date: August 4, 2015
Pages: 368

Synopsis:

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

Review:

So, you know that feeling you get when something could have been great, but then it wasn’t? I’m having that feeling right now. I actually enjoyed Isla and Josh as characters, and I liked them together. My main issues were with the progression of their relationship and the overall plot.

The first bit of this book was golden for me. It was super cute and some of Perkins’ scenes had me swooning and squealing, but when I look at the overall picture, it wasn’t enough for me to feel like the entire book was good. Isla mentions that she has liked Josh since Freshman year, but once they finally get together they are saying, “I love you” in record time. It was just too fast, in my opinion. They were too dependent, obsessive, and “can’t-live-without-you” for how long they had actually been a couple.

And we can’t just have a simple romance story, right? There has to be some kind of conflict that keeps them apart, but the conflict presented was such a non-issue. All the crying and wallowing and dramatics was too much and felt so forced.

I pretty much skimmed from the middle to the end of the book. I couldn’t handle it, lol. I’m sad because I liked Isla and Josh more than Anna and St. Clair or Lola and Cricket, but the plot for their story was so weak. It could have been so much better, but what can ya do? I would rate the books in this series as: Anna and the French Kiss >>>>>>> Lola and the Boy Next Door >>> Isla and the Happily Ever After. And I give Isla

2.5 Stars!

star-1    star-1    halfstar-1

Have you read this series? What did you think and how would you rank them?

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins: Oh, the Insta-Love

    • Anna and the French Kiss is very enjoyable, so I think you will like it! The other two books in this series are where it kind of falls off (in my opinion). I’m glad I read Isla though because I would always be wondering. Can’t like ’em all! Haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

