Reading Wrap-Up | November 2015

So I read 9 books this month! I’m impressed with myself. That’s the most I’ve read in a while! Three of the books are not pictured as they were read in eBook form. I read a real stinker this month, but I also read a couple 5 star books so I’m pretty happy with November!

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

My rating: 4/5 Stars

This book is about a teenage girl with schizophrenia who struggles everyday to tell the difference between reality and her delusions. This makes for a compelling, unreliable narrator. I really enjoyed this book; definitely recommend!

Fates and Furies by Lauren GroffFates and Furies by Lauren Groff

My rating: 2/5 Stars

Didn’t like anything about this. Pretentious writing, vapid characters, boring and unimpactful plot. Not the literary masterpiece it is said to be (at least in my opinion).

Full Review

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

My rating: 4/5 Stars

This was such a pleasure to read! Representation for plus size girls (who don’t hate themselves… imagine it!) in YA is always appreciated. Lots of great messages about self-love and not being afraid to grab life by the horns.

Full Review

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 3.5/5 Stars

This book is pretty much everything you love about a full-length Gillian Flynn novel, but in a compacted form. I really enjoyed it and would have even liked to see this story fleshed out into a full novel. Personally, I just wasn’t a fan of the way she ended it, so that’s where points came off.

Full Review

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 3.5/5 Stars

After trying SO many times, I finally got into this book and finished it! I found it to be enjoyable, but ultimately very predictable. Still interested to read the rest of the series!

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

My rating: 4.5/5 Stars

This was such a beautiful coming of age story. I think Ari and Dante are the sweetest and most likeable main characters I’ve ever come across. Loved it.

In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park

An incredibly important book that I think everyone should read. It’s about Yeonmi Park’s life in North Korea under the Kim dictators, the human trafficking she suffered when defecting to China and her life after making it to freedom in South Korea. It was very informative and incredibly inspiring.

Full Review

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5/5 Stars

This book didn’t suffer from a sophomore slump in the slightest! It was just as good (if not better) than The Raven Boys. This installment focused more on Ronan and we got to find out a lot more about him which was very interesting. If you loved The Raven Boys, definitely continue on!

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

My rating: 5/5 Stars

I can definitely see why this is regarded as a modern classic. This is the story of a small group of students who have a hand in killing one of their classmates. The very first page of the book tells us this. The Secret History isn’t about who did it as much as the motivation behind why they did it and the repercussions of it. Loved it!

Full Review

Those are my brief thoughts on all the books I read this month. Have you read any of them? What did you think?

6 thoughts on “Reading Wrap-Up | November 2015

  1. At last a less than stellar review about Cinder! Maybe I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it at the time (it happens, eight?), but I just could not get into the…what was it, cutesy(?) style of that book. The series is such a phenomena that I’d like to read it even if just to have common ground to discuss it but so far, nope, just can’t do it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it took me like 5 tries to finally get into enough to finish it off. I did like it well enough. It’s written very simply and it’s the kind of book you can jet through. Not gonna be adding it to my list of favorite series or anything, but like you said. Now that I’ve read at least one of the books, I can discuss it with others haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

