Wrap-Up | October 2015

So I managed to read 4 books this month, which I think is pretty good considering one of them came in at over 700 pages. I was really pleased with and enjoyed all the books I read, and I even found a new all-time favorite.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

My rating: 4/5 Stars

Six of Crows is a new book that takes place in the same world as the Grisha trilogy. No worries, though. You don’t have to read the Grisha books to fall in love Six of Crows! The strong point of this book was definitely the unique and diverse cast that Bardugo put together. I haven’t talked to a single person that didn’t love the characters. Check out more of my in-depth thoughts on this book in my full review.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

My rating: 5/5 Stars

Oh, man. This book. I found a new all-time favorite in this one. When I think about it, I guess I’ve got Ariel Bissett to thank for me finding this book. She was selected to be a Manbooker vlogger and put up an introductory video about it. Although she didn’t actually vlog or read the books… if it weren’t for her, I would have never known what the Manbooker prize was. I wouldn’t have explored it further and found other people who were loving this book, which spurred me to pick it up, as well. This book is raw, relentless, harrowing and real. You go on a journey with the main characters over 3 decades and come to love them as your own. You love them with such a fervor, which is why everything that happens hurts so much. Enough gushing here though, check out my full review for more!

In the Woods by Tana French

My rating: 4/5 Stars

When I was looking for some suspense books to read for October, I found out about Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series. In the Woods is the first book in that series, and I did quite like it. I had some small issues with the actual mystery part of the novel. It just felt a bit like a plot you’d seen on a TV show like Law & Order. It was a bit cliche, but I loved the characters, their relationships, the writing, and the overall feel of the book. I think she has the most important stuff down. Better mysteries will come easier than having to be a better writer. I’ve heard from many people that the second book in this series (The Likeness) is amazing and a complete step up, so I’m excited to maybe get to that next month!

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

My rating: 4/5 Stars

This is the last book I read this month. It’s a pretty short book, so I flew through it in about two days. Even though it was short, she managed to get a lot of content in there. This is her debut novel so I was really interested to see what her beginnings were like. The characters were all (mostly) horrible people, but I was hooked! The last half was especially suspenseful; I couldn’t put the book down! You can read more of my thoughts on this one in my full review.

Those are my brief thoughts on all the books I read this month. Have you read any of them? What did you think?

4 thoughts on “Wrap-Up | October 2015

  1. You’re right, 700 pp. is a whopper of a book. I also found Sharp Objects to be a quick read though, like you mentioned, Flynn packed a lot into each line. I’ve been wanting to revisit that book and to figure out how she made the story so compelling even though the characters were all pretty horrible and the plot was pretty simple. Re: Six of Crows, I was really looking forward to reading it, but for some reason it’s going SO slow. Im enjoying the characters but cannot seem to finish that book. Maybe it’s that I’m not a big fan of caper stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have ordered six of crows but it hasn’t arrived yet. I’ve only read the first book in the Grisha Series so I might finish the last two and then read Six of Crows. I loved A Little Life but so sad. I also love all of Tana French’s books. It’s been a while since she’s had one come out so I’m hoping in 2016 we will see a new one from her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

